The Balanced Spreadsheet-Financial News, Budget Advice, Debt help, Financial Tips, and other advice

October 1, 2009

September ‘09 Net Worth update (+7.66%)

Filed under: Excel fun, Net Worth, Personal Finance, Real Example, Uncategorized — Tags: , , — thebalancedspreadsheet @ 10:36 am

Like August, September was another good month, mostly due to increases in retirement accounts as well as a triple mortgage payment.  We like seeing these $5,000 a month increases in net worth.   After going through last autumn and winter with sharp decreases it is definitely something I can get used to.

 

Networth Sep '09

Networth Sep '09

Cash-Cash decreased slightly.  This is mostly due to contributions to my Employee stock purchase program (ESPP) as well as paying an additional $1,450 on the mortgage.  Currently we have a nice cushion but some of that is going towards a trip and possible IRA funding down the road.  

ESPP-This is a quarter end month.  That means the $5,001 I have in the account will be used to buy company stock which I will turn around the next day and sell at an 11.11% profit!  This will occur during the first week of October, so I will post an update how it goes like last quarter.

House-A few condos have sold for more then the $95,000 that is on the balance sheet.  I think we have might have hit the bottom of the real estate market.  With that being said I am still leaving the condo valued at $95,000 for now.  I would rather be conservative then jumping the gun.

Retirement-It is nice to see our retirement accounts continue to rebound.  Starting this month, instead of contributing 9% of my paycheck to the company 401(K), I am only contributing 6% which is the company match.  The extra 3% will now be going to my ROTH IRA. The wife and I did each open up a ROTH IRA for 2009.  We only contributed $250 each, but will contribute more before the year is up.

Pension-The increase is larger this month due to a lump sum raise paid out by my employer this month.  I should cross the threshold in November which will bump up my contribution in December.

Mortgage-A reduction of approx ~ $1,750!  I have discussed our decision to pay down the mortgage pretty as quick as we can before. It is really cool to see the principle reduced by big chunks every month.  At our current rate, we will pay the mortgage off on July, 2013.  I have decided against refinancing for now due to the breakeven point being 24 months.

You can see past net worth updates at my net worth history page.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

